Theme Groups

The different elements in the ICO mission lead to the organization of the research programme into ‘thematic groups’. These thematic groups can be regarded as Special Interest Groups. The thematic groups are responsible for the organization of ICO’s thematic courses and also contribute to the ICO Biennial National and International Schools. Moreover, in a thematic group,researchers may discuss research results and research plans, prepare joint grant proposals and joint article submissions. Both researchers and PhD students participate in these groups. Each group is coordinated by one or more experienced researchers and one PhD student; the theme group coordinators.

These groups were established around themes that reflect actual and promising developments in education and training. Furthermore, the themes reflect major topics in Dutch and Belgian educational research.

No Theme group Coordinator
T1 Learning and Instruction Tessa Eysink (UT)
Björn de Koning (EUR)
 T2 ICT and Education Jeroen Janssen (UU)
Bram de Wever (Ghent)
 T3 Workplace Learning Renate Wesselink (WUR)
 Simon Beausaert (UM)
Elly de Bruijn (OU)
 T4 Teaching and Teacher Education Helma Oolbekkink (RUN)
Dineke Tiggelaar (LU)
Julia van Leeuwen (PhD, RUN)
 T5 Domain Specific Instruction Carla van Boxtel (UvA)
Arthur Bakker (UU)
Sharisse van Driel (PhD, OU)
Rosa Alberto (PhD, UU)
 T6 Educational Design and Curriculum development Susan McKenney (UT)
Ruben Vanderlinde (UG)
 T7 Schools and the societal context of education

Marinda Spithoff (RUG, PhD)

 T8 Assessment, evaluation and examination Judith Gulikers (WU)
Liesbeth Baartman (UU)
 T9 Higher Education Roeland van der Rijst (LU)
Ann Stes (UAntwerpen)
 T10 Neuroscience and Education Renate de Groot (OU)
Nienke van Atteveldt (VU)